# REGULATIONS OF THE VIRGINIA BOARD OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS

18 VAC 95-20-10 et seq.

**EFFECTIVE DATE:** 

Board of Nursing Home Administrators Virginia Department of Health Professions 6606 West Broad Street, 4<sup>th</sup> Floor Richmond, VA 23230 (804) 662-9111

## 18 VAC 95-20-80. Required fees.

The applicant shall submit all fees below which apply:

1.	A.I.T. program application		\$185
2.	Preceptor application		\$125
3.	Licensure application		\$150
4.	Verification of licensure requests from other states		\$10
5.	Nursing home administrator active license renewal		\$125
6.	Preceptor registration renewal		\$ 60
7.	Penalty for nursing home administrator late renewal		\$50
8.	Penalty for preceptor late renewal		\$25
9.	Nursing home administrator reinstatement	\$225	
10.	Preceptor reinstatement		\$110
11.	Duplicate license		\$ 25
12.	Duplicate wall certificates		\$ 50
<u>13.</u>	Nursing home administrator inactive license renewal	\$ 65	

# 18 VAC 95-20-175. Continuing education requirements

- A. In order to renew a nursing home administrator license, an applicant shall attest on his renewal application completion of 20 classroom hours of approved continuing education for each renewal year.
  - 1. Up to ten continuing education hours in excess of the number required may be transferred or credited to the next renewal year.
  - 2. A licensee is exempt from completing continuing education requirements and considered in compliance on the first renewal date following initial licensure.
- B. In order for a continuing education course to be approved by the board, it shall be related to health care administration and shall be approved by the National Association of Boards of Examiners of Long Term Care Administrators or by an accredited institution.
- C. Documentation of continuing education.

- 1. The licensee shall retain in his personal files complete documentation of continuing education including evidence of attendance as provided by the approved sponsor for each course taken.
- 2. Evidence of attendance may be a wall certificate or an original computerized document provided by the approved sponsor and shall include:
  - a. Date or dates the course was taken;
  - b. Hours attended;
  - c. Participant's name;
  - d. Signature of an authorized representative of the approved sponsor.
- 3. If contacted for an audit, the licensee shall forward to the board by the date requested a signed affidavit of completion on forms provided by the board and evidence of attendance as provided by the approved sponsor.
- D. The board may grant an extension of up to one year or an exemption for all or part of the continuing education requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the administrator; such as a certified illness, temporary disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters.

### 18 VAC 95-20-176. Inactive licensure.

- A. A licensed nursing home administrator who holds a current, unrestricted license in Virginia shall, upon a request on the renewal application and submission of the required fee, be issued an inactive license. The holder of an inactive license shall not be required to meet the continued education requirements of 18 VAC 95-20-175 and shall not be entitled to perform any act requiring a license to practice as a nursing home administrator in Virginia.
- B. An inactive licensee may reactivate his license upon submission of the following:
  - 1. An application as required by the board;
  - 2. A payment of the difference between the current renewal fee for inactive licensure and the renewal fee for active licensure;
  - 3. Documentation of one of the following:
    - a. Completion of continued education hours equal to the requirement for the number of years, not to exceed three years, in which the license has been inactive;
    - b. Evidence of active practice in another state or U. S. jurisdiction or in the U. S. armed services during the period in which the license has been inactive; or
    - c. Evidence of requalifying for licensure by meeting the requirements prescribed in 18 VAC 95-20-220 or 18 VAC 95-20-225.

C. The board reserves the right to deny a request for reactivation to any licensee who has been determined to have committed an act in violation of any provision of this chapter.

#### 18 VAC 95-20-180. Late renewal.

- A. A person who fails to renew his license or preceptor registration by the expiration date shall, within one year of the initial expiration date:
  - 1. Return the renewal notice or request renewal in writing to the board; and
  - 2. Submit the applicable renewal fee and penalty fee;
- A. The documents required in this subsection A shall be received in the board office within one year of the initial expiration date. Postmarks shall not be considered.

# 18 VAC 95-20-190. (Repealed.)

#### 18 VAC 95-20-200. Reinstatement for nursing home administrator license or preceptor registration.

- A. The board may reinstate a nursing home administrator license or preceptor registration that was not renewed within one year of the initial expiration date.
- B. An applicant for nursing home administrator license reinstatement shall apply on a reinstatement form provided by the board, submit the reinstatement fee, and provide one of the following:
  - 1. Evidence of attendance at 20 classroom hours of continuing education for each year since the last renewal.
  - 2. Evidence of active practice in another state or U.S. jurisdiction or in the U.S. armed services during the period licensure in Virginia was lapsed.
  - 3. Evidence of requalifying for licensure by meeting the requirements prescribed in 18 VAC 95-20-220 or 18 VAC 95-20-225.
- C. An applicant for preceptor reinstatement shall apply on a reinstatement form provided by the board, submit the reinstatement fee, and meet the current requirements for a preceptor in effect at the time of application for reinstatement.